The Power of Good-Bye was the fourth single released from Ray of Light and its music video saw Madonna wearing a Vivienne Westwood Red Label dress and a pair of Giuseppe Zanotti sandals. Madonna’s look in the video was reminiscent of 1940s Hollywood glamour.

The music video was directed by Matthew Rolston and it was shot at the Silvertop House in Los Angeles, California and on Malibu Beach between 8-10 August 1998. Madonna described the video as a “love story gone wrong”. She wanted to make its visual storyline very dramatic, hence she enlisted Rolston as the director with whom she concocted the emotional narrative of the clip. The video shows Madonna and Croatian–American actor Goran Višnjić playing a very seductive game of chess. Not long after, Madonna destroys the chess board. She then goes walking by the sea, passing a man walking his dog on the beach. The Power of Good-Bye paid homage to films like The Thomas Crown Affair (1968) and Humoresque (1946). It premiered on MTV on 10 September 1998, a few minutes before the 1998 MTV Video Music Awards began.

Her glamourous look for the video comprised a Vivienne Westwood Red Label dress from the Fall/Winter 1998 collection and a pair of golden Giuseppe Zanotti wedge sandals. Upon seeing Giuseppe Zanotti’s shoes at the Diavolina store in Los Angeles, Madonna wanted to wear a pair of his golden wedge sandals in her The Power of Good-Bye video. “I remember this like it was yesterday when Madonna wore a pair of my sandals in one of her music videos, it made me feel very excited! Madonna was so famous, and I wasn’t. It was my first experience in designing my own shoes. My name was not an easy brand to pronounce, but Madonna followed me. I was very proud. I like it when an artist goes crazy for my shoes. Then in one day, I have a thousand girls wanting a pair of my stilettos because they saw Madonna,” said Zanotti in an interview with the Houston Chronicle in 2013.

Madonna wearing the Vivienne Westwood Red Label dress in the music video 1/2
Madonna wearing the Vivienne Westwood Red Label dress in the music video 2/2

Styling: Arianne Phillips

Hair: Luigi Murenu

Make-up: Kevyn Aucoin